A job ain’t nothin’ but work

The morning’s sunshine reflects on the tables
and the holiday makers are easily
separated from the work goers.
I’m not really sure which I am,
my coffee’s a little too sweet,
I in no way needed this third cigarette,
the interview’s soon and I’m not
sure what they want from me
but surely they won’t give me what I want.
Internship, a likely excuse to exploit
someone as desperate as me.
The bizarre situations we find ourselves in
just to make a buck.
Uncertainty feeds desperation,
we’re scared and feeling grateful
to fuckers offering below minimum wage.
We’ve lost it
and as a wise man once said
‘A job ain’t nothin’ but work’
First published on Life As An (insert label here):
http://lifeasan.blogspot.ie/search/label/Jean%20Byrne

Leave a Reply

